Cahill Professor of Biochemistry, Emeritus
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, California 94305

Born: Brooklyn, NY, June 30, 1926
838 Santa Fe Ave., Stanford, CA 94305

B.S., Pennsylvania State University
Ph.D., Western Reserve University

Professional Background





Predoctoral Research Fellow, National Institutes of Health
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, American Cancer Society
Dr. H. M. Kalckar, Institute of Cytophysiology, Copenhagen, Denmark
Dr. Arthur Kornberg, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

Scholar in Cancer Research, American Cancer Society, Department of Microbiology, Washington University School of Medicine.
Assistant to Associate Professor of Microbiology, Washington University 
School of Medicine
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Stanford University School of Medicine
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Stanford University School of Medicine
Chairman, Department of Biochemistry, Stanford University School of Medicine
Sam, Lulu and Jack Willson Professor of Biochemistry
Non-Resident Fellow of Salk Institute
Director, Beckman Center for Molecular and Genetic Medicine
Vivian K. and Robert W. Cahill Professor in Cancer Research

Eli Lilly Award in Biochemistry (1959)
California Scientist of the Year (1963)
National Academy of Sciences (1966)
American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1966)
Henry J. Kaiser Award for Excellence in Teaching at Stanford University 
School of Medicine (1969, 1972)
Distinguished Alumnus Award, Pennsylvania State University
V.D. Mattia Prize of the Roche Institute for Molecular Biology
President, American Society of Biological Chemists (1975)
Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Rochester and Yale University (1978)
Sarasota Medical Awards for Achievement and Excellence (1979)
Annual International Award of the Gairdner Foundation (1980)
Nobel Award in Chemistry (1980)
Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award (1980)
New York Academy of Sciences Award (1980)
Foreign Member, French Academy of Sciences (1981)
American Association for the Advancement of Science Scientific Freedom
and Responsibility Award (1982)
National Medal of Science (1983)
American Philosophical Society (1983)
Honorary Doctor of Science, Washington University, St. Louis (1986)
National Library of Medicine Medal (1986)
Honorary Doctor of Science, Oregon State University (1989)
Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (1991)
Honorary Member of the Academy of Natural Sciences of the Russian Federal 
Republic (1991)
Foreign Member of the Royal Society, London (1992)
Honorary Member Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (1992)
Honorary Doctor of Science, Pennsylvania State University (1995)
Member, Pontifical Academy of Sciences (1996)
Sustained Leadership at National Level, Research! America (2003)
American Society for Cell Biology Public Service Award (2003)
Biotechnology Heritage Award (2005)
Lifetime Achievement Award, Association for Molecular Pathology Award (2008)
American Institute of Chemistry Gold Medal (2008)
Stanford School of Medicine Dean’s Medal (2008)

Special Appointments
• Editor, Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications
• Member, NIH Study Section on Physiological Chemistry
• Member, Journal of Molecular Biology Editorial Board
• Member, Board of Scientific Advisors of Jane Coffin Childs Foundation for Medical Research
• Member, Advisory Boards to National Institutes of Health, American Cancer Society, National 
  Science Foundation, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Harvard University
• Chairman of the Organizing Committee of Asilomar Conference on Recombinant DNA and 
  co-author of the final report.
• Elected to the Council of National Academy of Science and to the Scientific Advisory Board of 
  the Welch Foundation
• Member and Chairman, International Advisory Board of the Basel Institute of Immunology
• Chairman, Whitehead Institute Board of Advisory Scientists
• Chairman, National Advisory Committee, Human Genome Project
• Trustee, Rockefeller University
• Chairman, Board of Directors, National Foundation for Biomedical Research
• Chairman, Public Policy Committee, American Society for Cell Biology
• International Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB)
• Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board, Beckman Foundation
• NAS-CSIS Roundtable on Biotechnology and Bioterrorism
• Member of Scientific Advisory Board of Harvard University Stem Cell Institute